## WBDI Winter Membership Meeting Thursday, December 16, 2021 11:30-12:30 PM CST Marriott Marquis Chicago, SHEDD AB Minutes

Members Present: Bethann Adams, Julia Baumanis, Robyn Bell, Marilyn Bennett, Emma Bentley, Brittan Braddock, Jade Brazzel, Jennifer Brooks, Sarah Bussineau, Andrea Cameron, Tara Cappelletti, Cogswell, Laruen Cohen, Mary, Jenny Collins, Allison Davis, Susan Eckerle, Olivia Friedenstab, Anoa Green, Brianna Harris, Crystal Hoisager, Theresa Hoover, Jamie Howell, Pam Klena, Barbara Lambrecht, Nicole Lawnicki, Marissa Lockwood, Tatyana Louis-Jacques, Brittney Lynn, Darla McBride, Elizabeth Monkemeier, Shemeka Nash, Lucy Pascasio, MJ Robinson, Suzanne Reed, Wendy Bauer Reeves, Fran Shelton, Anetta Siemianowicz, Courtney Snyder, Shayna Stahl, Catherine Rand, Lori Schwartz Reichl, Angela Schroeder, Emily Talley, Rachael Vega, Taylor West, Siobhan Wilkes, Krystal Williams, Donna Wirth, Gladys Wright, Lisa Zemlock.

- I. Call to order: President Courtney Snyder called the meeting to order at 11:36 AM
- II. Attendance
- III. Approval of the Minutes from July 8, 2021: Corrected name: Danielle Guadry to Danielle Gaudry. Fran Shelton made a motion to approve with amendment and Angela Schroeder seconded. Membership voted yay.
- IV. Reports
- A. Treasurer: Robyn Bell summarized the membership report which can be found <a href="here">here</a>. Many of this year's costs for Midwest were rolled over from 2020 so this does impact the budget. Please stop by the booth to buy a pin!
- B. Membership (Vice President): Darla McBryde summarized the membership report which can be found <a href="here">here</a>. Robyn Bell reminded the membership about the new *Retired* membership.
- C. Committee Reports
  - 1. Awards/certificates: Fran Shelton has created a postcard to assist everyone in finding and encouraging people to apply for the Summa Cum Laude Award for schools of 650 students or less. Awards on the website have been updated.
  - 2. Composition Competition: Shayna Stahl thanked the committee members for their contributions. Composition Contest winner Laura Estes will be at the booth today at 3 PM. Her piece *Walking On Air* was premiered by Andrea Gonzalez at Danielson Middle School in Texas. Roger Zare's piece *Pastorale* was premiered on Nov 13 at the Baltimore school of the arts conducted by Anoa Green. Roger will be at the booth on Friday at 10:30 AM.
  - 3. DEI committee: On behalf of the committee, Shemeka Nash thanked everyone who completed the DEI survey. The committee will work together with the professional development committee to provide some of the professional development requests that appeared in the survey results. Catherine Rand announced that a DEI statement will be added into our revised constitution.
  - 4. History: Learn about the many interviews done by Ruth Petersen <u>here</u>.

- 5. Industrial Chair: Please refer to the written report found here.
- 6. Mentoring: Judy Grimes is looking to pass the baton to a new person interested in being the chair of mentoring. She will continue to publish her mentorship column. Please reach out if you are interested in being involved with mentorship.
- 7. Scholarships and Grants: This year we had 161 applications for scholarships. The 5 winners have been selected and information about them can be found <a href="here">here</a>. Pam Klena recognized the winners who were present and invited them to become members of WBDI. We awarded 7 grants this year. Two impact report videos were sent out. Athena Brass is premiering a piece at Midwest that WBDI provided a grant to commission.
- 8. Social Media: We have almost 3000 members on facebook and 275 followers on Instagram. The committee has not met since our last meeting, but we are continuing to look for ways to engage on these platforms. Thank you to MJ Robinson for the many excellent posts from this event.
- 9. State Chairs: We are working to narrow expectations of state chairs and better organize electronic documents so that ideas can be shared. There are opportunities to serve as a state chair in AK, AZ, ME, MS, ND, RI, TN, WV, WY. Please reach out to <a href="LKAYTHOMP@GMAIL.COM">LKAYTHOMP@GMAIL.COM</a> if you are interested in serving.
- 10. Technology: Theresa Hoover invited the membership to collaborate on technology. Please reach out with ideas or needs.
- 11. The Woman Conductor Journal: Kathy Cox is looking for a new face to take over the chair position for The Woman Conductor. The journal has continued to grow and we welcome anyone who is interested in continuing its development.
- 12. Website: Please reach out to Emily Talley if you are willing to help with the website.
- D. President Elect: Bethann Adams thanked Gladys Wright for her donation to the Al & Gladys Wright award for lifetime achievement which will be presented to Sue Creasap at a future meeting. She also thanked Courtney Snyder for all she has done for the organization over the last few years.
- E. President: Courtney recognized members who are presenting during the Midwest Clinic this year including (but not limited to): Wendy Bauer Reeves. Heather Mansell, Lori Schwartz Reichl, Mary Cogswell. Courtney will also be presenting her chapter from *The Horizon Leans Forward* at 8:30 tomorrow.

## V. WBDI Initiatives

A. Professional Development Committee

## VI. Items for Discussion

- A. Summer Conference 2022: The summer conference is tentatively set for June 23-27 (Thurs-Sun) University of Houston. Please submit presentation ideas to Crystal Hoisager.
- B. Updates from Chairs and Executive Board Meeting: Honorary members will now receive a copy of the Journal. A DEI statement will be included in the revised constitution and the DEI committee will check to make sure there is inclusive language throughout. The committee is expecting to

have the revised constitution approved by the summer meetings. Courtney and the board are working to move documents to shared Google folders to make transitions smooth and easy.

- VII. Matters Arising: No matters arising
- VIII. Introduction and Installation of the new Executive Board: The new Executive Board was introduced. Courtney Snyder will move into the role of Immediate Past President, Bethann Adams will take over as President, Roxanne Stevenson will become the Vice President, and Pam Klena will become the President-Elect. Robyn Bell will continue in her role as Executive Secretary and Tara Cappelletti will continue in her role as Recording Secretary.
- IX. Call to Adjourn: A motion was made to adjourn at 12:31 PM. Emily Talley seconded the motion and the membership voted yay.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tara Cappelletti